The sun was bright that day
As I, the fresh-faced newcomer
Naively made my way
To work, that first day of summer.
The job was one that I
Had never seen, but had wanted
But I was soon stopped by,
And my keen desire blunted,

A train that blocked the way
With loud laborious rumbling
In motion but it stayed
Despite my fiercest grumbling.
Between the cars I see
So close and yet unreachable
That land of mystery,
Well known, and yet, unteachable.

Ambition halted, soon,
I turned to alternate pastime
And proved to be a boon
What I saw now for the last time
A bird alights and sings
Drowns out mechanical screeching
And trees, like dragons’ wings
Lift my mind, so boldly reaching

A sudden silence falls
The train must cross another road
The unblocked passage calls
And gone the wonder peace bestowed
How is it that I miss
What seemed to be a tir’some wait?
But nevertheless wish
To follow still ambition great?

Leave a comment